NRF Futsal Premier League 2022

Futsal Premier League is back for 2022!

Registration deadline extended to Tuesday 4 October. 

Players can register through Comet now - please get in touch if you have any queries.


Matches will be held at Pulman Arena, Takanini in Auckland and The Peak Recreation Centre, Rototuna in Hamilton.


Play starts at 9am and finishes at 6pm on gamedays, with teams playing two games each day.


  • One - Saturday 8 October,  two games per team | Pulman Arena
  • Two – Sunday 9 October,  two games per team | Pulman Arena
  • Three – Saturday 15 October,  two games per team | Pulman Arena
  • Finals – Saturday 29 October,  one game per team | The Peak


There will be four women’s teams and six men’s teams spread across the NRF and WaiBOP regions.

NRF FPL objectives and format

The Futsal Premier League is all about creating a competitive competition for senior futsal players in the NRF and WaiBOP regions.

The FPL format spreads players across teams, creating a level and balanced competitive competition for everyone taking part.

  • 48 women will be drafted across four teams and 72 men will be drafted across six teams
  • There's no limit on how many players can can register
  • Players must be aged 16 years or over 

How the draft works

  • The draft will take place on Tuesday 4 October
  • Each team must have a total of 12 players on their squad (including two goalkeepers)
  • There can be a maximum of four players from a single 2020 SuperLeague squad
  • Players register individually
  • Coaches will draft or select players for their teams
  • Players not drafted can choose to be classed as Emergency Players
    • Emergency Players can be called into action to replace any player who suffers an injury, or illness but will only be available for that team for the remainder of the competition
    • Emergency players “buy out” the remaining games from the player they are replacing

Player registration

  • Monday 12 September to Friday 30 September
  • The draft costs  $180 per player - if you're not drafted or selected, you'll receive a full refund 
  • Register through Comet here

At the completion of the player registration window, coaches will be provided with a full list of every player who has registered for their respective competitions.

Player identification games

Registered players will be able to attend player identification games, which will be filmed and provided to coaches before the draft. This is not compulsory but will provide an opportunity for the coaches to see you play.

  • The Peak, Hamilton | TBC
  • St Peter’s College, Auckland | Tuesday 27 September

Official rosters confirmed

NRF will announce the Official Team Rosters and the list of Emergency Players for the FPL competition on Wednesday 5 October.

Competition format

The format will be as follows:

  • Women
    • Double round robin
    • Semi Finals, 3rd/4th placing, Grand Final
    • Four matchdays where a total of seven games per team will take place
  • Men
    • Single round robin
    • 5th/6th placing, Semi Finals, 3rd/4th placing, Grand Final
    • Four matchdays where a total of six or seven games per team will take place

Coach appointment

Coaches will be approached and appointed with consultation from the relevant Federations.